Jab We Met

Jan, in a coffee shop in Mumbai. It was a blind date set up by his sister P and brother A. The conversation was easy and I had a nice time. We kept in touch and over chat, mail, skype and love creeped up on us gradually, like cake batter that didn’t realise it was set on ‘bake’.

He calls me ‘Kay’, unbelievably affectionately and lovingly so. And loves a lot of things I do. Like snail mail, and writing mesages in cards. Like large bunches of Lilies and Tulips and Orchids. Like good design and Paul Smith toothbrushes. Like romance and old fashioned love.

Our routine’s wound around each other now. We finish work, meet on Skype, cook dinner together (courtesy wi-fi). We chat till I doze off. I wake him up in the morning, chat a bit as I water my plants and do my puja. He brings home cheerful flowers for me to see even though he has pollen allergy. He still posts me a card every week with a sweet note. If I’m in a bad mood, he hears me out, if ever I’m depressed he cheers me up, if ever I raise a tantrum he never takes me seriously, but sticks around till it’s gone. I can tell him anything and know that I will not be judged. He loves me like I’ve never been loved before. Completely, madly, romantically. And I love him the same way. And more.

6 responses

  1. Dee

    awww!

    He must be a real special person Kavi. I cant wait to meet him!!

    May 9, 2009 at 12:05 AM

  2. L

    One more ” Aww” here.
    The flowers, the cards, the long chats and the dopamine raise. How darling!

    Very well deserved bliss coming your way K. And I could not be happier for you.

    You sound so content! God bless!

    L

    May 9, 2009 at 2:06 PM

  3. AK

    Hearing your story makes me so happy. Love the butterflies in the stomach, weak in the knees kind of romance. Wish you all the best for your happily ever after! Hugs.

    May 14, 2009 at 4:49 PM

  4. ashima

    this is so sweet
    and so you
    🙂

    May 27, 2009 at 4:18 PM

  5. WOW! 🙂 that’s one cute story! Tell us more!
    and seriously! have you considered getting into writing?

    October 27, 2009 at 6:37 PM

  6. A hundred awwwwwws won’t suffice. What a marshmallowish, heart-squishing li’l post !

    April 26, 2011 at 2:28 PM